Sugar Mountain Finally Gets Snow

After leaving Grandfather Mountain, I drove a few more miles to Sugar Mountain, the highest ski mountain east of the Rockies. Last night’s snow had finally covered all the slopes, and the snowmaking guns were running full force all over all the runs. The temperature was 28 degrees, and the sun was in and out of the snow clouds still producing white magic for the skiers. I toured around the steep roads surrounding the main lodge, and enjoyed my first real snow of the year. I found a rocky stream, and also some very dry snow that wouldn’t even make a snowball. I parked in a remote lot, and took a bus to the base of the slopes. There were more people than I’ve ever seen at Sugar before, and this was the most crowded day yet this season. The lift lines were endless! The roar of the snowmaking guns sounded like one of those dryer machines when you drive your car through a carwash. I’ll post one photo that I made of the entire resort from a distance, and the others I’ll put into a gallery so you can look through them at your leisure. Don’t ever let anyone tell you that skiing in Dixie is for whimps. These skiers and snowboarders were as good as I’ve seen anywhere. Maybe next time I’ll rent some skiis and enjoy the slopes myself. I haven’t been skiing in over ten years, but you never forget how….

The Slopes and Condos at Sugar Mountain

Just click on any thumbnail, and you can scroll through all the photos. Click on ESC to return to the blog.

2 thoughts on “Sugar Mountain Finally Gets Snow

  1. I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog.

    Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a
    great blog like this one today.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

