A Drive to Charlotte and Durham

Yesterday I drove to Charlotte, picked up one of my cousins, and drove on to Durham to visit with a 95 years old friend. Leaving the mountains in the rain, I had to capture the strange clouds swirling around the ridges. This is Hickory Nut Mountain. When I returned home this morning, the yellow Bradford Pears were so intense in the bright sun that I had to stop and get this lower shot.

 Ice was still on my deck at noon, and water in some containers was still frozen solid. It must have gotten very cold last night, but tonight is supposed to be even colder. 

One thought on “A Drive to Charlotte and Durham

Leave a Reply

