18th Century Farmhouse Reborn

Over the past five years, I have documented the condition of the 18th century log cabin located deep in Otter Creek Valley. Last year, a new front porch replaced an older version, and thankfully, there was evidence that repairs were being made on the over 200 year old structure. Over the past two weeks, a new roof has replaced the older, sagging roof, and repairs continue on the exterior of the cabin. I couldn’t be more pleased. This farmhouse must be one of the oldest surviving homes in Rutherford County, and it would have been a shame to have allowed it to decay further.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

18th Century Farmstead

KODAK Digital Still Camera

porch-6Cabin during the winter before repairs were made…

KODAK Digital Still CameraThe original profile of the cabin has been restored with a new wood and metal roof. The image below shows the old roof line after the kitchen addition was added after the Civil War.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

KODAK Digital Still Camera

New Rear View

KODAK Digital Still CameraA corner view shows work continuing to replace the rotted porch. Notice the concrete block construction underneath the kitchen addition, compared to the original hand placed stone foundation of the older structure.

KODAK Digital Still CameraThe image below was added on May 31st to show the completed side porch. Also, the cellar door was open on this visit, and I found a dirt floor space about 6 feet high, with no visible supports under the cabin.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

May 31, 2016

KODAK Digital Still CameraIn rebuilding the side porch, the original 220 year old logs were revealed. The plank siding was added after the Civil War. The cabin might have looked like the one below before the siding was added.

woman-with-spinning-wheel-beside-log-cabin-circa-1910-cypmkx

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Backyard Garden on May 31st

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “18th Century Farmhouse Reborn

  1. This reminds me of a Poem / Blue Grass tune ” Cabin on the Hill”
    There’s a happy childhood home in my memory I can see
    Standing out upon the hill ‘neath the shadow of the tree
    If I only had my way it would give my heart a thrill
    Just to simply wander back to the cabin on the hill.

    Oh I want to wander back to the cabin on the hill
    ‘Neath the shadow of the tree I would like to linger still
    Just to be with those I love joy my heart would over fill
    Just to simply wander back to the cabin on the hill

    But the saddest of it all I can never more return
    To that happy childhood home matters not how much I yearn
    If I only had my way it would give my heart a thrill
    Just to simply wander back to the cabin on the hill

    By Composers / singers Lester Flatt And Earl Scruggs ( Earl was from Cleveland County N C )

Leave a Reply

