The Felling of a Civil War Sycamore

A year ago I found five Sycamore trees along Otter Creek adjacent to the 19th century log farmhouse that has been featured in this blog as it was being “reconditioned”. The very old trees were the largest that I have found in all of my wanderings through these expansive woods.  Here is a photo of the largest one without its springtime foliage.

Sycamore 

The tree was well over 100 feet high, with a diameter near the ground of 4 1/2 feet, and a circumference of 13 feet. It must have been growing before the Civil War…limb

Last week while walking along the creek , I discovered that the tree had been cut down. I went to the temporary sawmill above the log house to see if the tree was there, and this is what I found.KODAK Digital Still Camera

KODAK Digital Still Camera

KODAK Digital Still Camera

mill 1

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Over the years, the landowners have selectively cut trees on the property as a way of earning money, and more recently, as a way to get lumber for the reconstruction of the historic house. It’s fortunate that they have not resorted to clear cutting of the forests as so many other landowners have done.

 

6 thoughts on “The Felling of a Civil War Sycamore

  1. Sycamore is used for hardwood floors —-The Home and “TreesOwner ” Possibly using that wood well for flooring My Brother in Law used trees on his property in Pinners Cove years ago——–

  2. You need to get your damn facts straight. The tree was cut because it was shading the hay field. It wasn’t cut for its monetary value. Saying they don’t give a damn about the tree and that they are poor. Shame on you. They are harding working people who have worked hard all their lives for what they have. Why don’t you go try some manual labor for once. Shame on them. Shame on you. And better yet why are you trespassing on their land.

    • I have been visiting with Mr. Bailey as he restored the farm house. He and his wife even invited me into the house, which I have photographed. Be careful with your accusations. I meant no disrespect, and if I didn’t document the history of this valley, no one would. I’m sorry you feel the way you do. I’m very aware that the family has been logging those woods for years, and I applaud them for not resorting to clear cutting, which so many other families have.

      • Accusations. That’s my family. I have every right to be angry about what you wrote.

    • Rhonda, Thank you for setting me straight about the Sycamore. I have made changes to the blog posts thanks to your comments. I apologize for jumping to conclusions as I did. I, too, have worked very hard in my life, and I do know what hard work means. In my retirement, I have discovered nature photography, and I hope that you will look at my work over the past five years. I welcome your comments about the history of this beautiful area, and I wouldn’t want to live anywhere else. Sincerely, Vann Helms

Leave a Reply

